Ice Screw 101?

Stay connected in the wind. This forum is for anyone who rides the wind, winter or summer, on whatever board suits their fancy. Share the stoke, find out where people are going, ask any question, share your discoveries, and discuss any esoteric idea you may have related to the pursuit of wind. Please keep it positive.

Moderator: MK

BillB

Ice Screw 101?

Post by BillB »

I've been launching on the snow with a sandbag.

How are most people using ice screws? :?:

Do I need 2 (i.e. one for launching?, one in my jacket?)? :?:

Thanks...

Bill
steveb

Post by steveb »

Bill. What kind of kite are you using?
Regional Ozone Team rider
sekollera

Post by sekollera »

I am new to kiting and I use two screws - one at the launch and one on my person. Last time out I used the spare twice to fix my kite lines. Prb. a good idea in any case.

/Adam
Nick in the TC

Post by Nick in the TC »

I use an old Slingshot fuel with a 5th line and only one ice screw. A second screw sounds like a good idea, but I don't seam to have any problems with one.
Kosk

Post by Kosk »

One is enough. Pull the screw out after you launch and re-anchor before you land. Bang the ice out and put the cap on, that way it'll work later when you need it. Be sure to stow it where you can't impale yourself on it. If you clip it to your harness, make sure it won't interfere with normal operation of your leash.

Mind your kite while doing this, you need to be able to steadily hold the kite at the zenith with one hand. Practice that first, before you start messing with the ice screw.

It's nice having the ice screw out there to bail yourself out if you get your kite and lines in a mess.
Stroh

Post by Stroh »

where are people finding the best deals on ice screws? I can only find them for like 40-60 a each.

I was talking to extreme about buying an whole bunch of used ice screws to sell in the store.... can you sharpen an ice screw? back to "like new" condition?