Snowboard size

Stay connected in the wind. This forum is for anyone who rides the wind, winter or summer, on whatever board suits their fancy. Share the stoke, find out where people are going, ask any question, share your discoveries, and discuss any esoteric idea you may have related to the pursuit of wind. Please keep it positive.

Moderator: MK

jfm

Snowboard size

Post by jfm »

I'm new to kiteboarding and have always used my skis but was thinking about getting a snowboard. I'm gonna take a couple lessons to learn how and was wondering if you use the same length for kiteboarding as well or do you go up or down in length a bit. The other thing is how do most like the bindings mounted? In a neutral stance or more toward regular or goofy foot?

Thanks
Jude
Matt V

Re: Snowboard size

Post by Matt V »

My experience:

Being 220lbs around 5’-10”, I have the perspective of a heavy weight rider with regards to boards. And if you intend to take my advice as gospel truth, don’t. My experience is somewhat limited to one board, the 5150 “Stroke” or Morrow “RV” (same board) in the 164cm size. I have these boards in both rockered and cambered and have used these almost exclusively since I started snowkiting. These boards are either perfect for me, or, I have adapted my style to fit their shortcomings. Either way, I love these boards and I really do not want any other board.